Our Board

Lindsey Badger, President
A Be More Award recipient (2016) for education and literacy, in recognition of her Indiana University and jail partnered Inside-Out Communication Program and ongoing jail-based working groups, Lindsey continues to facilitate three groups for and with incarcerated and formerly incarcerated individuals: The Monroe County Jail (MCJ) Women’s working group, The (Men’s) MCJ Advancing Education Think Tank, and the New Leaf Transition Support Center Re-entry Collective.  Badger also chairs New Leaf’s Programs and Education Committee.
Donyel Byrd
A long-time community social worker committed to equity, Donyel was named the social worker of the year in 2018 by the National Association of Social Workers, Indiana Chapter. Her current professional work includes teaching as an Associate Faculty with the IU School of Social Work. Previously, Donyel provided supportive services to children and families who had been involved with child protection services, school social work, assisting people in the community with enrollment in health coverage, and advocating for equity in education, health care, and affordable housing.
Markus Dickinson, Vice President
A former associate professor of Computational Linguistics at Indiana University and current director of the Jubilee College Ministry (First United Methodist Church), Markus has been volunteering in the AIR dorm since 2010.  Also active with Thriving Connections, Markus focuses his time with NL-NL on the website designing and in engaging the larger community.
Christopher Haynes, Treasurer
A retired professor of Computer Science at Indiana University, Chris has been a NL-NL jail volunteer since 2010. He is a Lay Minister for Prison Ministry of the Unitarian Universalist Church of Bloomington, where he co-chairs the Hope For Prisoners Task Force, and offers instruction in yogic meditation and breathing practices. He has formerly served on the Boards of the UU Church and Bloomingfoods, and as a CASA and Big Brother. 
Nordia McNish
Nordia is a Grad school student studying social work and work with individuals with disabilities. She is the VP for the board of directors for South Central Indiana Hosing Opportunity (SCIHO), a member of the Anti-Oppression Education Committee in the school of social work and a member of the United Methodist Outreach Committee.
Debra Morrow, Secretary
The Executive Director of Middle Way House, an emergency shelter and rape crisis center in Bloomington, Debra has long worked with those in need in Bloomington.  Before her tenure with Middle Way House, she worked with incarcerated women at New Leaf - New Life and volunteered with the Shalom Center.  Morrow is a graduate of Indiana State University with a degree in criminal justice, and her life has focused on trying to catch people who otherwise fall through the cracks.
Bobby Overman
As the Nonprofit Central Specialist at the Monroe County Public Library, Bobby works with nonprofits of all types and sizes. This has given her a special understanding and deep appreciation for the work nonprofits do in our community. Working as the jail librarian, she saw firsthand how programs like NLNL help individuals stay connected to their family and the community as a whole.
Max Smith
A resident of Monroe County since 1993, Max has worked as a commercial construction superintendent and as a small business owner.  He is a veteran of the US Navy and a former philosophy major, but these days is known more as an active advocate for jail programming, re-entry, and criminal justice reform relating to addiction. Additionally, he serves on an Advisory Board for the LEAD (Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion) Program.